• About Me

    A short bit about who I am. At least how much I've figured out so far. Read more.

  • My Other Places

    Twitter Facebook LinkedIn Flickr

    SF Bookworm
    Wherein I discuss my gentle maddness.

  • Twitter Upates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Get email updates.

    Join 2 other followers

Looking for the Scent of October

I can’t believe it’s practically the end of October. Fall is my favorite time of year and though here in the Land of Perpetual Summer our change of season is comprised of a couple random days of overcast and drizzle I try to make up for it by visiting those lands where the burnt orange leaves are blown skittering down the street bringing the slight smell of musty dampness with them. A land where the night is a little deeper, the moon a little larger, where the mystery of twilight is just that much closer and the reedy wail of a dying calliope is heard off in the distance.

I have my usual vehicles for this, Bradbury’s “Something Wicked This Way Comes” of course, Zelazny’s “A Night in the Lonesome October”, Leiber’s “Our Lady of Darkness” and a handful of others.   Now I’m looking for something new to add to my usual collection of Autumnal fiction.  The current spate of zombie fare and romantic teen fang-fiction (fang-fic?) really doesn’t do it for me. I guess I’m looking for something a bit more subtle, spooky and, dare I say it, sophisticated.

Writing this I remember I was pondering something similar when I wrote a A Baker’s Dozen for Holloween three years ago for SF Bookworm.

Leave a Reply

